My Experience At SideHustle

My Experience At SideHustle

SideHustle Cohort 5.0

ยท

5 min read

My journey at sidehustle started when I saw a friend's post on Twitter about the program, I didn't hesitate to take advantage of the opportunity. I applied in March and got accepted, I had to wait a whole month for the program to begin, You can imagine the excitement๐Ÿ™ˆ. The program started in April, I applied for two courses, product management, and Quality Assurance. I couldn't meet up with the live classes during the weekdays, As a result, I scheduled a time on the weekends to watch the recorded classes, which was quite helpful. I watched the week's recording on Fridays and Saturdays and took my quiz on Sundays, Sometimes at night by 11 pm. The capstone project helped us to put our knowledge into practice and interact with people on our track. We were split into teams but due to some team members' unwillingness to work, it wasn't easy, but we still pulled through.

The Capstone projects;

Product Management Capstone Projects: The team: Ayuba Jummai (Group leader), Matachi Ononuju, Jeremiah George, Iyaniwura Temidayo, Adebiyi Blessing, Uchechukwu Micheal

First Project; We were asked to come up with a product that helps people find houses and offers flexibility for making payments, create a product road map for our product, and include user personas, user stories, and acceptance criteria in our presentation. The link to our work: 1drv.ms/p/s!ArOKsqLamgCMihE1aojVN3m9xkmF?e=..

Second Project; We were asked to come up with at least 3 new features for our product using the design thinking framework, Make Sketches of our product highlighting the features (Show at least 3 screens), and make a product backlog to show the workflow for our product (Using Kanban Method). The Link to our google doc; docs.google.com/document/d/1iWDMDOPd4h3SAtI..

I created the low fidelity wireframe for our Second capstone project with my Figma knowledge.

Screenshot (44).png The Figma link; figma.com/file/AHfxT24v2o0BFPtMsRCa4c/GROUP..

The design prototype; figma.com/proto/AHfxT24v2o0BFPtMsRCa4c/GROU..

Our Grade: We got a B in our first project but didn't get the grade for our second project. that was a general problem.

Screenshot (47).png

Quality Assurance Capstone Projects; The team: Cyril Ezekiel (Group Leader), Jacob Ajala, Hamidah Bamidele-Alao, Matachi Ononuju, Demilade Olakunle, Olajide Olulana, Jamiu Aderibigbe

First Project; We were asked to create a test case document that covers all possible scenarios that can be tested on the application of our choice. My team chose YouTube. The link to our google sheet;
docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1gt3aWD0VT2M..

Second Project; We were asked to pick an award of our choice and write a java program to determine what type of award someone deserves based on the user's entry. The link to our google docs:
docs.google.com/document/d/1tSoKH1iyjB2pTos..

Our Grades: We scored A's in both Projects.

Screenshot (45).png

It was a really fun experience. Due to my perfect score on a quiz, I even received a Quiz Master Badge.

1651758939640.jfif

MY BOOTCAMP EXPERIENCE:

I fell in love with Software testing (Quality Assurance) and proceeded to join the six weeks bootcamp to gain more experience. I joined both the portfolio and startup bootcamp. I was placed in Quality assurance portfolio team one, where I was appointed as the team lead.
My team mates were; Ibe Philomina, Esther Obaro, Cryil Ezekiel, Oluwafunmisho (Assistant team lead), Kegbe Abraham Payekena, Akintade-Ojo, Osabase Joan, Mubarak Adapoju. The most amazing team anyone can have. Unfortunately not every one contributed to the end of the program due to personal issues.

On the first week we were asked to create test cases for an app or website. We chose Kuda Bank and few errors were spotted. The link to our test cases; docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1hA5T-o8XVeI..

On our second and third week we were paired with teams from other tracks and asked to run test cases on the CRUD (Creat, Read, Update, and Delete) API worked on by the backend and run tests on the TO-DO app. The Link to our test cases; docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1uytg_XRbToH..

On our fourth week we were asked to pick a template for a URL shortener and create test cases for the application and test the app when ready.
The link to our test cases; docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1y3JPxGtmwxA..

On our fifth week we created test cases for a music app designed by the product design team in week four. The link to our test cases; docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/119vBEmhZGdU..

A lot of apps assigned to us to test weren't finished so the sixed week was set aside for the backend team to complete their incomplete API's. The Backend team still didn't deliver so no test was carried out.๐Ÿ’”

One thing I learned from SideHustle Cohort 5 is that a team can only work effectively if everyone in it is driven to succeed. I'll like to thank my teammates that persisted from the start to the finish: Ibe Philomina, Oluwafunmisho (Assistant team lead), Akintade-Ojo, Osabase Joan and Esther Obaro. You guys are the best!.

A special thanks to our mentor Muyideen Jimoh for always being available to answer our questions no matter the time.

Thank you to Damilola Oyediran a.k.a Garfield for providing this platform and our community manager Damilare Oyetade a.k.a Drey attending to us and listening to our complains.

Thank you to my Family, my mom and siblings Chisom, Ola, Ezichi, Tochi, Chimdi and Chigorzirim for the emotional and financial support ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿซ‚โค๏ธ

A special thanks to Ola for the encouragement, emotional and financial support. Youโ€™re the best!โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿซ‚

Thank you to my friends David, Onyinye and Chiagoziem for the encouragement ๐Ÿซ‚๐Ÿ’•

This program has been super educative, I learned and made new Friends across all tracks. I plan to further my software testing career after this. SideHustle has helped to lay the foundation of my tech career!!๐Ÿ˜Š

Thank you for reading.๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿคธ๐Ÿผโ€โ™€๏ธ

ย